Graham Media Stations Win Associated Press Awards, WKMG Named Station Of The Year

The Associated Press honored Graham Media Stations with several first place awards for WMKG, KRPC and WSLS.

For the second year in a row, WKMG News 6 (CBS Orlando) won more AP awards than any other TV station in Central Florida, including the coveted Station of the Year award.

associated press award.png


WMKG News 6 won first place in the following categories:

    Station of the year
    Best morning newscast
    Best evening newscast
    Non-breaking news newscast
    Feature light news for Getting Results award
    Series/Franchise Reporting for Getting Results awards
    Nadeen Yanes for breaking news -- individual
    Erik Sandoval for breaking news -- long format
    James Sparvero for multimedia journalist

The station also took second place for the following: -- Best news website
    Continuing coverage for Driving Change initiative

"I am very pleased to see our team being recognized for their hard work and dedication to investigative journalism, compelling storytelling and commitment to highlighting people of Central Florida who are getting results for our community," WKMG News 6 news director Allison McGinley said.

KPRC 2 (NBC Houston) was honored with the Associated Press award of best digital news website in the state of Texas for 

 It's the second time in the last four years that Click2Houston has won the Best Digital category in Texas.  The judges comments about Click2Houston included, "Excellent digital presence on all social media platforms. Easy to navigate website. Nice interactive elements within stories."

WSLS 10 News (NBC Roanoke, VA) is a winner of three first-place awards in the 2017 Virginia’s Associated Press Broadcasters contest.  WSLS 10 News took home first place awards for outstanding sports operation, best website and community service.